Here at Eye Do Lashes 4U LLC we want you to be as informed as possible about your lashes.  Every person has a lash cycle and every persons lash cycle is a little bit different.  Your lash artist will go over this with you during your consultation or first appointment.

There are 3 stages of lash growth Anagen. Catagen. Telogen.  OK great – what does that mean 🙂

Anagen is the process that happens when the lash is growing and “baby” lashes or new growth can be seen.  These lashes are not generally lashes by your artist.  They are fragile – still growing- and need to grow stronger before being lashes.  Once your Anagen lashes hit the “teenage” part of life they can generally be lashes safely.  This stage “Anagen” is reffered to your lash the entire time it is growing and then your lashes are in the Catagen stage.

Catagen the roots of your lashes start to disintegrate- they have reached there full growth.  These lashes are almost always lashed by your artist.

The 3rd and final stage of your lashes is the Telogen phase- this is when that lash is “dead” basically it is hanging out on your lash line waiting for the next Anagen lash to start growing and push it out.  These lashes are the ones that your body is naturally shedding.

Many factors can affect the length of each stage of your individual lash cycle.  Hormones, diseases, stress, products, season changes, diet/nutrition, age, pregnancy and so on.

Your lash artist will work with you to the best that they can to help you figure out what your cycle is and how often that you may need to come in for lash extension fills.

Please see our other blogs about shedding and feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have at 970-231-6513


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s